“Free Basics” haters, you’ve got it all wrong

I’m an Internet being. It’s where I live, sleep, it’s where my food comes from. And I am a pro-net-neutrality person.

But… (the moment you realise how pissed off the writer was at the time of writing this, and that this is going to be an excruciating rant. This is going to be a post with most numbers of profanity I’ve ever written in a single sitting)

But…

I’m saddened to see the side I’m standing on. Not because I have shades in my beliefs, or my reasons for being pro-net-neutrality have even the slightest doubts in them, but plainly because of the company I find myself in.

Few months back, I wrote about how internet.org violates net neutrality, and how we should look for alternatives to internet.org, and I stand by it despite the fact that it was rather animated expression of a meagre, humble idea. But because what stands with me in this mission is a bunch of, how do we say it, shit-heads. A bunch of moronic lunatics, who would sway in any direction pop culture would want them to sway. People who are apparently educated, but have no fucking reasoning whatsoever. These are the people who spend a considerable amount of their time on the Internet trying to be accepted, and desperate to be revered for how open minded they have been all their lives.

Bull-fucking-shit. And I’ll tell you why. I’m sharing some of the comments by people who are in opposition of Free Basics just because it is in pop culture. And they have condescend in their demeanour, and strut in their imaginary Internet-space-walk. The following is taken from just one Facebook thread. So much of bullshit in one single Facebook thread, imagine what the rogue Internet has in its holds!

Now before we get to the shitstorm, let me say this out loud. I doubt if even half the people here actually read the consultation paper put out by TRAI, and if they are aware of the main clause of “differential pricing” put in there. I did, and hence I sent them that mail using savetheinternet.in (only after having read it, and modified according to my opinion throughly).

Here is the post, and below that, the responses.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 12.46.03 AM

Here you go.

(Names not hidden or obfuscated because these are all from place accessible publicly)

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 11.36.11 PM

I was told by a friend that Mahesh Murthy is the pioneer of anti-internet.org movement in India, and I argued without knowing that he wasn’t. I don’t really know who started, but he was one of the leading voices and I respect him for that. So, it would be completing the circle starting from him (or starting the circle?). He is a smart person, and I highly regard his business acumen and public speaking. But he clearly used to be a bully in school. (Or maybe not, and he is trying to make up for it now?). We understand your intent is noble, but you’re stripping a journalist of their credibility as a journalist because they have an opinion contrary to yours? And I’m guaranteeing that of all the people who responded to this thread, Mahesh is probably the smartest. So maybe condescend is the best foot forward to make an impact? I wouldn’t know; it has never worked for me. (Isn’t this blog post of mine an irony in that case!)

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 11.45.08 PM

No, you’re clearly not daft because daft people are not capable of a certain level of sarcasm and beyond. This, what you just did right here, is the grown up version of inserting your fingers in the ears and yelling “Naa-na-na-naa-naa” while the other person tries to reason with you. I’m shamed that you support Net Neutrality, and that I’m in the same “gang” as you are.

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 11.52.50 PM

 

Stupidest. Fucking. Argument. In the history of mankind. Oh.. So IIT professors are doing it? It must be really important then? Where the fuck is your own reasoning? And yes, he is paid to opine. He is an opinion journalist. But at least he cites reasons other than just “IIT professors” who support his cause. Also, from now on, you won’t read HT? Good on HT! Maybe they will cut down on the Page 3 news in that case.

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 11.59.24 PM

Why is hunger and poverty ever brought up when we are discussing technological advances? Should we stop investing in higher education, in science and research, in defence, in businesses? What crazy moronic dog bites the people complaining that hunger and and poverty should be cured instead of making technological advancements. (In his defence, the crazy moronic dog of angst which has bitten me at the moment is far more pervasive)

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 12.07.46 AM

No, he isn’t in a hole. He is a world-class columnist and if you’re an average Indian, he knows about economics, science, technology, psychology, and almost all sorts of “-ogy” way more than you do. If he’s in a hole, you’re non-existent.

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 12.09.53 AM

I’ll leave this one to it. Lolz.

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 12.10.43 AM

Always offer water to a guest, even if they’re carrying their own bottled water. Especially if they are from colder parts of the world because, you know, perspiration, humidity, and stuff?

I could go on, and on. Here is a sober piece by Digit, one of my favourite magazines from childhood, which I only bought 2 copies of, my entire life, since it was so expensive for a ten-year old suburban kid.

The article is fine, well-written and everything. I even agree with some of the points in there. And it has been written pragmatically, with a clear state of mind, and considerable research (everything my writing lacks, basically). But the strangest part was the comments. I was expecting comments like

“You make a lot of sense, but…<your argument here>”

Or maybe

“You’re wrong in assuming that…<my argument here>”

Or some other sensible communication.

But instead of this, it was this:

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 12.30.07 AM.png

Seriously, how many more hashtags would it take you to understand that hashtags don’t work on their comments system? #dontWasteHashtagsOnPlacesTheyDontWorkBecauseYouAreTypingInCamelCasingAndItGetsDifficultToUnderstandWhatYouAreActuallySaying

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 12.32.04 AM

More

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 12.33.11 AM

Moooooore….

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 12.33.41 AM

Just go through the thread already! http://www.digit.in/internet/facebook-and-free-basics-is-not-going-to-kill-the-internet-28917.html

Well, my purpose of writing this?

Basically venting my frustration out at how stupid we are as a society. Speaking of which, I wrote about my observation of society at large in a post about why our Indian towns and cities are considerably filthier than, say, an average British town. I guess we will grow with time, and learn. No offence to anyone (you know it is obligatory these days, because people and groups take offence).

Maybe tomorrow, when I’m less in sleep, and more sober, I’ll want to trash this post. Who knows!

 

 

Leave a Reply

